• Call For Your Complimentary Consultation (845) 533-0265.
  • 24 Hours A Day, 7 Days A Week
The Inniss Firm, PLLC

How Is DWAI Different From DWI And Dui In The State Of New York?

While many believe that a charge of DWI, DUI, and DWAI are all similar, the state of New maintains that there are vast differences among them.

DWI, or Driving While Intoxicated, charges are usually from situations in which the driver was impaired by alcohol in their system. The legal limit for blood alcohol content in the state of New York is 0.08%.
DUI, or Driving Under the Influence, charges are related to those in which the driver was possibly impaired by other mind-altering substances, such as marijuana, heroin, prescription drugs, etc. DUI is often used as an umbrella term for different types of driving while impaired.

Finally, DWAI, or Driving While Ability Impaired, is a charge in which the blood alcohol content of the driver is below 0.08%, but the driver was still impaired by drugs and/or alcohol. These are usually lesser offenses than DWI charges, although they could become bigger if another person was killed or injured in an accident resulting from the driver’s impairment.

All of the above offenses are quite serious charges. They can result in the driver going to jail and/or paying a fine. Additionally, their license can be revoked.

Have you been charged with DWAI and are not sure what to do next? Experienced DWAI Lawyers can help guide you through the stressful legal process. If you live in or near Suffern, New York, call The Inniss Law Firm, PLLC at (845) 533-0265 for a free consultation.

Phone IconCall For Your Complimentary Consultation(845) 533-0265

What Are The Penalties For DWAI Charges In The State Of New York?

DWAI Lawyer Suffern New York

The penalties for DWI and DWAI are based on the severity and frequency of the offense in most cases in New York.

According to DWAI Law In New York, the penalties are often determined on a case-by-case basis for less severe cases or DWAI. There are, however, specific penalties for DWAI offenses involving a combination of both drugs and alcohol and for repeat offenders. Below are the penalties that one might face.

Penalties tend to escalate for multiple violations within 25 years. If you accumulate three or more alcohol or drug-related convictions or refusals within 10 years, you could lose your license permanently.

If you have been charged with DWAI in the state of New York, your first action should be to contact an experienced DWAI Defense Lawyer. The legal professionals at The Inniss Law Firm, LLC can work with you to minimize your penalties. If you live in or near Suffern, New York, call (845) 533-0265 for a free consultation.

Phone IconCall For Your Complimentary Consultation(845) 533-0265

Can I Be Held Accountable For Damages, Even If I Am Charged With DWAI?

DWAI Lawyer Suffern New York

You can still be sued if your impairment resulted in an accident while driving a vehicle. Below are some of the damages you might be responsible for.

If you have caused an accident while impaired, you need a DWAI Lawyer who has experience with personal injury law. The professionals at The Inniss Law Firm, PLLC will guide you and protect your best interests. If you are located in or near Suffern, New York, call (845) 533-0265 for a free consultation.

Phone IconCall For Your Complimentary Consultation(845) 533-0265

If You Have Been Arrested, Time Is Precious So Don't Delay Or
Wait! Call Us Today At (845) 533-0265

Accessibility Close Menu
× Accessibility Menu CTRL+U